Dotty's Hands

Dear Diary,

I spent yesterday afternoon with my dear friend Dotty as I do most every week on Wednesdays.  She is slowly slipping into a more confused and disoriented state.  We still are able to have conversations but it is getting more difficult.  She seems, at some level, to be aware of this for she frequently says, "I just can't remember anymore..."   It doesn't seem to bother her though and I guess that is a blessing.

I asked if I could photograph her hands and she did remember that I had done this 10 years ago and willingly kept her hands still while I made the photograph.  (The two I did 10 years ago are extras.)  I have always loved Dotty's hands which still look wonderful although she will be 95 next month.

Her hands were always doing something, like my grandmother's.  When I think of her I think of her hands peeling apples, rolling out dough, shaping her wonderful dinner rolls, crocheting an edging to an afghan or piecing a quilt together.  I cherish these Wednesdays with Dotty and I think letting her go will be very difficult for me. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.