An Amazing Sky!

Dear Diary,

What a show the sky put on yesterday with the most amazing and odd clouds.  Great stretches of horizontal formations that seemed to point due east.  I know there is a huge storm headed this way but it will impact the mid-Atlantic region for the most part and spare northern New England.  Perhaps these clouds were a prelude to the front that is inching its way east.

When I taught elementary school I remember a particular day in early autumn when the sky was full of amazing clouds like this.  I took my class outside to lie on the grass to look up at the shape-shifting clouds.  Our heads formed a circle and we looked, according to the principal who spotted us from her window, like the spokes of a wheel lying there.

I have been endlessly fascinated by clouds all my life.  I often stop on the side of the road to just stand and stare at them.  People should try to stop whenever Nature puts on a show like this and just enjoy the sight. Put down your phones for a moment and look up! This reminds me of an Oscar Wilde quote:

We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.