In the Deep Freeze

Dear Diary,

I am so thankful that Maine will not be buried in the huge snow storm that is hitting the mid-Atlantic today.  I feel for those affected.  I know how devastating these winter storms can be.  Right now we are wrapped in a deep freeze with temperatures that struggle to get out of the teen's.  The snow in the fields has taken on that sheen that comes from sunny days but below freezing temperatures; when the wind seems to polish the surface to a marble like finish.  If the sky is clear tonight the full moon will illuminate the landscape.

Maybe it's my age but the cold seems to bother me much more than it used to.  I have the wood stove going every night and I still don't feel really warm.  Well, it will pass, eventually.  I do love the snow covered landscape and watching the family's fishing on the pond.  We've had a very easy winter so far so I need to stop complaining...right now!

I learned yesterday that a woman I know who came to see me about the wonderful scrapbooks her father had created over his life has lost them all when her daughter's car was stolen with them inside.  Now, that is really something to shed tears over.  I had told her to have the pages scanned to preserve them digitally but she hadn't gotten around to doing that.  What a tragic loss for her and her family.  This has lighted a fire under me to finish my digital family chronicle.  A family's pictures and stories are priceless.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.