Rise and Shine!

Dear Diary,

A sort of an emergency blip.  My head and heart are still spinning from Saturday's march and all the positive energy flowing through millions of people around the world.  It was like being connected to a great turbine of emotion and it was staggering.  I sought some solace when I returned to Maine in finishing a page in my commonplace book.  The Emily Dickinson quote I thought especially appropriate:  We never know how high we are 'till we are called to rise.  And rise up we did.

Now, it is up to each one of us to continue the fight for social justice and the American principles of liberty and justice for all.  I couldn't help but think of my 8th great grandmother as I was standing on the Boston Common on Saturday.  Not far from where I stood, Mary Dyer was hanged for standing up for religious tolerance in Puritan Boston in 1660.  It reminded me that the fight for what is right and just never really ends and none of us can stand idly by.

Now, Emerson and I brace for another storm, tonight into tomorrow, but I think the storm of protest we unleashed on Saturday will grow and spread.  The wonder of social media will keep the momentum going and we will not give up...we will not go back!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.