Shunpiking...

Dear Diary,

Yesterday was the coldest day of the year so far so why I decided to go out and do a bit of shunpiking I have no idea but it did.  Shunpiking is an old Yankee term for avoiding the main roads.  You follow your internal GPS and leave the maps at home.

I found several wonderful old barns that I photographed and a classic New England farmhouses that I found compelling. (Extra photograph of one.)  I love the vernacular architecture of the northeast.  I have traveled the world but give me a quiet New England country road and I am in heaven.  John Denver's song was certainly in my heart!

Explore is my word for the year and exploring my region is what I will do.  Searching out the remote as well as the familiar will be a delightful way to spend my time I think.  I've posted the full experience of shunpiking on my blog A New England Wayfarer if you would like to read a bit more about my day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.