"Always we begin again."

Dear Diary,

I leave later this morning for my drive to Boston.  My stomach is already full of flutters.  I just got an email alert from the March organizers that the number of registered marchers was 70,000 as of last night.  With last minute registers and "walk ins" that number will most likely rise significantly.

I've chosen to post the photo of a door in my dining room because it has two important messages.  The St Benedictine rule, "Always we begin again" has been sort of a motto of mine for years and today I feel that we must take up the cause of social justice in earnest again, just as we did in the 1960's.  The little cardinal, my "angel bird" is offering Hope.  That is something we all need right now but knowing that hundreds of thousands of people, all over the world, will be marching with me tomorrow gives me great hope.

I've added a poster I created for today.  May today be the beginning of a great up swelling of protest and resistance.  Pray that all who march will be safe and that the marches will be peaceful.  Tomorrow is a pivotal point in American history and we will not sit silently by and watch the progress of the last 300 years set aside; we will go forward not backward.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.