An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

A Dove of Peace to All Blippers!

OK, firstly, it isn't a dove. Nothing quite as common as a pigeon, mind you but a blackbird I think. Especially in this black and white image...Ha hmm.

The sunrise this morning didn't exist, just a greasy dull cold and miserable morning. Wandering with my macro lens for hopefully misty dew laden wonders of nature, I had almost nothing.

Here, I think most people passing me thought I was taking a photo of the tiny bird atop the big tree. Well, I was, but in essence it was a study in shape and form - this tree has recently been pollarded and the new growth sprouting from the stubs of branches interestingly. As it happened, the fixed focal length fitted exactly, so not cropping needed either. It was always destined to be black and white, of course.

And why a Dove? (OK, not a dove)

Well, love and peace and all good things to all Blippers and Blipfoto, forever! Especially for the millions of comments, stars and Favourites (over one hundred and fifty Hearts!) over my last three entries.

IF I'd known that yesterday's was my third Blipversary, I'd at least made sure it was a good one - but I only got the notification after I'd posted and had already had five comments! But it was an OK entry, not one to be too ashamed about.

I have to admit that I almost thought that the attention given over the past three days were for someone else. I just take photos, it was as if I had done something useful or important or great perhaps. Which I hadn't - and haven't, of course. In my chaotic, self neglected and often depressed existence I often look at these shiny polished photographs that I apparently took and I don't recognise that I did. 

This disassociation might be a self survival defence mechanism, to inwardly suppress bad or deep emotions. It's as if the body is self medicating itself. This being a particularly deep and rough time for me, I suppose this is natural - and which of course, SHOULD get better. 

So, whilst I read all these comments, they didn't resonate and after a while, I stopped reading them and just did mundane things and trying to get over another day of lethargy and headache. BUT, I do have those comments to read again - and again - now that Blipfoto is safe and they won't all go down some cyberspace black hole.

It's almost, well, I really don't know what to say (for once) that all three entries were in the top row of the first page of the most Popular - and then they went to being first AND second. What is that all about??

But there again, perhaps that's nothing to do with me, it's about someone else?

I'm not wishing to worry or scare any of you - this is the sort of thing I battle - to a lesser or greater degree - on a daily basis. Amongst the other things that I battle with. As I initially wrote when joining this wonderful site all that time ago, the taking of the photos is the easy part, it's the rest that's a big pile of shite!

So, thank you, again, all. 

And goodnight. Hope the dove (not a dove) brings you peace. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.