Blue Wednesday...

This Monday was supposed to be the most depressing day of the year but today is - it's official!

I was brightened up though by finding this Blip used by Blipfoto HQ in their Twitter feed. These are usually shared with Facebook.

Not only is the weather dire, with incessantly cold and dark leaden grey skies but I have been physically unwell under the weather since my embarkation out into the frozen wilds of Wiltshire countryside of the last Blip.

I've most been in bed since, not a cold or anything respiratory but feel like death warmed up.

My quick venture into the Cathedral late this afternoon to get this didn't make me feel any better either - not helped by the sickly greeny/yellow/brown turgidity of the overall colour balance. When I was getting this fisheye Blip I saw this massive and beautifully lit Christmas tree and enquired as for how much longer it would be up for, so I could return to get a Blip.

Apparently, it was an installation with a name, up until 1st February. Now, I cannot find any mention of it on the cathedral's website. With my headache, it's not much fun trying to find something that you know must be somewhere.

It was suggested back then to return at dusk, when the interior light levels go down - but this means that all the light is from artificial light sources and rather than the rich golden colour obtained in some parts of the cathedral, I just had that sickly palour aforementioned.

So, I desaturated by a fair amount all the parts except from the tree itself and the lovely dark blue light from dusk coming through the stained glass window in the West Front.

 Lens is Nikkor 28mm f2.8 Ai - bought recently for £85 on Ebay. A lovely smooth 30 year old manual focus lens, completely made of metal, intended for Street photography use. This is the first time I've had a real chance to use it, here at f4. And it's tiny, the size of a 50mm standard lens.

Because I've been feeling rubbish, I just haven't been able to reply to wonderful comments or look at Journals. Apologies, but thanks.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.