Flower Friday - With a Bumble bee.

I accidently patted a bumble bee today and woke it up.

It was early morning at the local Gardens and I was admiring the huge 'hips' on a rose hedge. Dodging the mass of prickles,I used my finger to see if the bloom on the hips would come off and in the process, patted the bumble bee's furry bottom - to both our surprise. It had been sleeping cradled on a little leaf. (see extras)

It took longer than I do in the morning to wake up and get going, and I watched while it went through a series of stretches before turning and staring at me.

According to Professor Google we have just four types of Bumble Bees in New Zealand and this one with the buff coloured bottom is "Bombus Terrestris, the most common.

Although not strictly a flower, these colourful plum size hips are the end result  of the flower so I reckon it counts as a Flower Friday entry:-))

I have included a photo of a 'hip' in the extras as well as they are rather beautiful in their own right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.