SNOWDROPS

I saw my first snowdrops today.
I cycled in the morning to the Madestein park in the morning. I was curious to see how the waterbirds were doing.
There were 12 swans, lots of gulls floating in the water of the big pond, and even more coots eating of the grass at the shore. One or two ducks and several herons.
I had come empty handed and decided to return home, to drink hot tea, buy oat flakes, and change my lens, because I had seen tufts of snowdrops between the trees.
When I came back there were only four swans left. The other ones had swam or flew away.
All the birds loved to have their share.
After lunch Piet Hein and I cycled to the beech. The weather was even colder now. We walked as long as we dared. The colour of the sky was grey, the water of the sea too.
When we came home, I really had had enough fresh air.

My haiku:

Snowwhite the flowers
Are, their stems a lovely green
I greet them with joy

And the quote by William Wordsworth in "Ode: Intimations etc.:

To me the meanest flower that blows can give / thoughts that do often lie too deep for tears.

BikerBear is hosting Flower Friday today. A great challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.