SWAN'S LOVE

I went to the Madestein park early in the morning. I had to give the waterbirds their oatflakes. Wcled home again.
e will be here in The Hague only for two days now and I want to enjoy my surroundings as much as possible.
Before lunch Piet Hein and I went to the beach. Crossed the Zwin of the Zandmotor (a stream between two sand fields), knowing that we would have to return the same way soon, because of the high tide.
Walked also to the North and then cycled home for lunch.
How wonderful to have all day a blue sky above our heads and no cold to speak of.
Later in the afternoon I accompanied Piet Hein to the two cemetetries, where in one of them the ashes of his parents were scattered and the other one (at the other side of the road), his four grandparents are buried and rest in peace forever. Not only his four grandparents lie there, also his great grand parents (father's side).  We saw also the grave of Louis Couperus, the famous dutch author.
We stood still for minutes, with our own thoughts.
Walking there I loudly spelled the names, some familiar, others mostly unknown. When we came home again, I felt the heaviness of the buried bones of all those persons in my soul.

The haiku:

Love and tenderness
We want these to come together
If only for moments

And the quote by Shakespeare in The Two Gentlemen of Verona:

They do not love that do not show their love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.