Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Drake dust-up

Isn't that always the way ... I just missed getting the moment leading up to this, when two drake green-winged teal had a little dust-up in the pond.  Just wasn't quite quick enough, alas.  However, I managed to get three shots of the loser (seen here) as he relocated to a different section of water.  And if you look very closely, you'll see the bit of green on his wing that gives him his name.  I happen to think they are one of our most striking ducks (not counting the wood duck, of course, who wins every beauty contest.)  

I went out today in search of a snipe (no, really...) and I managed to find 3 of them, but they were being typically illusive and I wasn't totally happy with my pictures.  If you are curious as to what they look like, I've posted a Wilson's Snipe in Extra - you'll see why they are hard to find).  Anyhoo, I'm sure I'll manage a better pic over the winter.  Also seen today were a dozen killdeer, many robins, mallards and Canada geese and one very unhappy looking Great Blue Heron.  It is always startling to see a heron in the middle of winter here, even though I know that many do overwinter even further north.  

Two other shots...
Perfectly reflected teal
and
a pair of killdeer, incognito

Washington DC is already getting the much-hyped storm, and we are expecting to wake up to snow here by morning, with a projection now of 8-12 inches.  As luck (or un-luck) would have it, our downstairs furnace picked this very bad time to break.  And the needed part will take 7-10 days to arrive.  The good news is that we are freshly stocked with firewood AND the propane supplier lent us a very heavy duty "space" heater that will heat the entire downstairs if we let the fire burn down.  So, we will be toasty as long as our electricity stays up.  

I've got food, wine, bird seed, freshly charged camera batteries and my Hubs - really, what more could I ask for?  And tomorrow you'll definitely be seeing a snow blip of some sort!

To my family and friends in the DC area, please stay inside and stay safe!

Toodles...  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.