Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Careful what you wish for...

I have been moaning about the lack of snow this winter - in fact, I've been actively wishing for snow.  However, I was not intending that it should all come in one day!  What starting yesterday as a "winter storm watch" quickly progressed to a storm warning and then to a Blizzard Warning.  Not sure how much snow has fallen so far, but I'm guessing around 16-18 inches (40--45 cm)...and it is still coming down at a rate of about two inches an hour.  Egads!  Made today's pick rather easy as I caught this blue jay with ice on his face and crest raised, looking at me as if to say "What the Hell?"


I've made mulitple trips out to shovel a path across our deck and patio, allowing me to refill bird feeders and make sure there is plenty of water in the bird bath.  The birds are so hungry that they don't even move away when we go out - poor things.  In another hour or so, they'll all start to go up into the trees to roost for the night.  And by tomorrow morning, the snow will have stopped falling, and I'm sure the Bistro will be mobbed.  I'll be up early to top off the feeders...

Hubs is out making a first run at snow blowing our driveway - can't let it get any deeper otherwise we won't be able to clear it tomorrow.  Once that chore is done, we'll stoke up the fire, and binge watch Season 6 of West Wing.  

By the way, I took this through the living room window, as well as the three pics starting HERE on Flickr.  

Hope you are all staying safe and warm out there...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.