WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

At the circus

Let's just say this is artistic ... it makes me think of a Hopper painting. This evening we were due to go to the circus, but unfortunately in the late afternoon S felt unwell and decided to stay at home. So after a brief hesitation I decided to go on my own, leaving him by the fire with a bacon sandwich to sustain him. It was "circus plus dinner" in a big top, and it worked out well because a) I gave S's ticket back, and since it was sold out with a waiting list they gave me my money back and b) I ended up sharing a table with K, someone we know but don't see often, who works in the arts promoting people, so we had a good chat.

What a wonderful show -- I'm so glad I went. The big top was done out like a restaurant with a bar, and the performers ran the bar and served the food between acrobatic routines, tightrope walking , trapeze artistry, playing musical instruments, tossing skittles and other activities. "Serving the food" included tossing plates with carrot cake on them across the big top, or balancing them on the head while being carried across the big top on someone's shoulders. Wine was served by balancing acrobats. Clearing up involved putting crockery in large wooden crates, hooking them onto a rope suspended from the ceiling, and then flinging them across the width of the space to be caught by someone else. Acrobats carrying soup tureens dodged flying skittles. There was lots of screaming, and not only from the diners.

One of the best shows this season. It's impossible to describe really, and no photos were allowed. Here's a video that gives a small flavour of it. And their website is here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.