Doocot

We both had a lie in compared with the rest of the week, and I think we both needed it.  I was planning to meet a couple of friends for a catch up this morning, but poor J was ill, so only I popped over to see S.  I had promised to take scones with me, which I purchased after the school drop off.  Unfortunately it had started to rain, and I was wet through by the time I got home, luckily the scones were ok.  I had a lovely morning catching up with S over a scone and some of her homemade shortbread.

I zoomed back to collect BB from school.  Luckily the rain had gone off as he had a sporty afternoon in store. He is taking part in a football development programme which started today.  It lasts for ninety minutes.  I haven’t yet managed to work out if it is worth me coming home while he is there. The pitches are beside a sports centre, and I had thought I would sit in the café and read my book, but the cafe was closed.  I sat for ten minutes or so, but I felt very uncomfortable so I left and as the weather had improved hugely, I went on an uninspiring walk to Prestonpans – the nearest town.  When football finished we had to zoom back as he then had hockey!  We just made it in time.  He was at hockey for an hour, and was completely worn out by the time we got home.  I was also worn out, acting as his taxi service.

We have had a quiet evening.

The aim of my uninspiring walk was to check out Preston Tower.  I used to see the top of it regularly, when I took BB to his swimming lessons.  I couldn’t get a decent shot of the tower as there was some work going on, but this is the (lectern) doocot in the gardens.  If you look closely there are some "doos" on the roof (see first extra).  It was a lovely spot and I am sure is really nice in the summer when the gardens will be at their best.  It will be worth another visit.  The second extra is aconites - flowering in Lady Kitty's garden, which I visited while BB was at hockey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.