The day just got better

Like just now!

I was having one last faff after thinking my camera was broken and decided to change the shooting mode to see if that would make the shutter start working again and I spotted that somehow (probably clattering on my bike), the setting had changed to 10sec timer.  The one photo I managed outside today was because I persisted for so long pressing the shutter that it finally went off.  You nearly got a photo of my bike through the toilet door in Kettlewell because that was my other accidental shot where I was trying to get it to work again. 

I’ve actually had a superb day and the fact that my camera wasn’t working properly didn’t hamper it; I just put things in perspective.  

I headed out at a steady slow pace today, with my sights on Kettlewell.  There’s plenty of places to turn back and still make a circuit but I was hoping I’d put in enough miles over the last few weeks to feel 50miles was achievable.  Dawn was gorgeous and I was out of the house just after the pink glow had faded. I had the roads nearly to myself for some time which was lovely for a Saturday morning.  The sunlight and dark contrasting shadows on the hillsides were beautiful, particularly leaving Grassington.

I started feeling the inclines once I got back to Burnsall and things were getting tricky at Addingham - especially when I couldn’t get my bike chain to drop off to the lower gear.  The Cow&Calf was not even on my mind today but I’ve made it home buzzing and am now on a feeding frenzy.

Only a couple of days ago in the frost, I was thinking about how good my joints felt but yesterday and today they’re back feeling cranky.  My knees were fine on my bike but my right one now has an unpleasant, unpredictable, sharp and random pain very unlike the normal twangs I get walking.  My toe won’t bend either and I had to do my post-shower plank nearly on one leg - good for the stomach, I guess.  

That’s it for the complaints - more for the record really. It’s been a grand day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.