SATURDAY SAUNTER

We had arranged to meet our friends, Amanda and Sean, for lunch at The Old Bank in Old Town, so didn’t go there for coffee this morning as we normally do.

However, we needed to park the car for longer than 2 hours, so left it near The Lawns, a local park, and sauntered round because we had plenty of time.  We had a lovely stroll and it was great to see the buds on the trees, hear the birds singing and just enjoying one another’s company.  I think Mr. HCB is pleased that I can now walk further, because that was one of the things we used to enjoy doing before I had my knee operation. 

We expected to see the snowdrops and crocuses because, of course, they usually bloom in the spring, but the apple blossom (and I am happy to be corrected if you think it’s cherry blossom!) isn’t usually blooming in January, but then everything seems topsy-turvy at the moment with our weather.

I was intrigued by the beautiful red catkins so looked them up on the internet and think they are from an Alder tree - I discovered this: 

The little fruiting bodies are called strobiles. They remain on the tree from autumn until the following spring, and the small, nutlike seeds they contain supply winter food for birds and small mammals.  The female flowers on an alder tree stand upright at the ends of the twigs, while the male catkins are longer and hang down. 

I always used to tell my two sons that you can learn something every day, and I have learned something today.

We had a fantastic lunch - have a look in the extras - it will make your mouth water - and I also met a new friend, Jemimah, who was there with my friend, Lynne - I think we may meet up one Saturday evening for a “Girls’ Night” with the three of us and the chef’s wife.  I have also learned that if you “hang out” with younger people, it keeps you young and I’m all for that! 

Hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend and be blessed whatever you do.  

“You are as young as you feel. 
If you begin to feel the warmth of your soul, 
there will be a youthfulness in you 
that no one will be able to take away from you.” 


John O'Donohue
Anam Cara: A Book of Celtic Wisdom

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.