SHARING WITH FRIENDS

I could get used to eating out, having been out TO friends for a meal on Thursday, WITH friends for lunch yesterday and then today TO friends for lunch again.

Our sermon this morning encouraged us to have an “attitude of gratitude” and I was very grateful when we arrived at our friends’ home for lunch to see this roaring log fire.  Our friends Beth and John know that I love a fire, and as we don’t have one, I know they often light one when they know we are going to be visiting.  I would have been quite happy to sit in front of it and just enjoy the flames, but they did draw the line at letting me have my lunch on a tray!

Lunch was delicious, as always, and the conversation flowed - as well as the wine and port!  Again, we were grateful that we live near enough to walk to their home, so we could both have a drink.  

We talked about the railway yard in Huddersfield, where John used to work when he was a student, and also about the railway works in Swindon, where Mr. HCB was an apprentice.  Beth encouraged Mr. HCB to write down some of his stories otherwise when he is no longer here, they will be gone forever and generations in the future will never know what he did.

Thank you Beth and John for a lovely afternoon - I’m now in my pink robe and slippers waiting for the next episode of Call the Midwife and then Endeavour - sadly we have no fire, so thank you for sharing not only your fire with us today, but also your lunch, your home and yourselves.  

I better get my thinking cap on to decide what we will have for our lunch tomorrow as we are due to stay in!

“Winter is the time for comfort,
     for good food and warmth,
          for the touch of a friendly hand,
               and for a talk beside the fire;
it is the time for home.”
Edith Sitwell

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.