Angel of Highgate

This afternoon John and I were booked on a walking tour of Highgate - 'Village of the Damned'.  The guide was very knowledgeable on the spooky history of Highgate and pointed out several places where the ghosts were said to wander......

Before the tour, we went to Highgate Cemetery - the East side which is open to everyone as opposed to the west which is by conducted tour only.  I love the overgrown nature of the place although the growth of ivy and self-seeded trees is contained a bit by the 'Friends of Highgate' otherwise everything would be hidden under a sea of green.  Karl Marx is buried here as well as Douglas Adams and George Elliot.  There are many other famous names and many I didn't know. 

My blip is of one angel on a tomb looking heaven ward. A bit of blur filter and partial mono aids the dramatic effect.  I could have spent much longer there and will definitely return.  The West Highgate Cemetery is also on my 'soon to do' list; that will need planning and booking!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.