Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Tyler Stableford

I went to a wonderful lecture at the camera club today (remember, I'm writing this as a catch-up blip).  They brought in Tyler Stableford.  From his bio:

Tyler is one of Canon’s prestigious Explorers of Light. He and his team have won dozens of global photography and film awards including an AME broadcast award, a global Art Directors Club Cube for cinematography, American Photo’s Image of the Year, and the cover of the Communication Arts Photo Annual. Men's Journal named Tyler "One of the Seven World's Greatest Adventure Photographers."

I loved it.  His photography was awesome and the commercials and public service announcements he showed us were incredible.  Besides the sterile photos or clips, he had videos that were "the making of..."  the series or process he undertook in producing his work.  For instance, he did a series of photographs of a woman swimming with whale sharks .  His team shot film of the process he went through in taking those photographs so he could explain it to others.  It gives you a greater appreciation of the work...as if you needed one.

Afterwards, I waited until I would be the last person to speak with him so that I could ask him a few questions, one of which was if he would take a selfie with me.  He happily obliged. 

Another highlight of the afternoon was that I won the door prize.  One hundred fifty people there and my number got pulled. I won two Canon visors (see photo) and an enormous Canon bag.  Good thing I use Canon products!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.