Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Bupkis!

I was outside at 3:00 pm with all of my equipment to stalk Zippy.  I had seen him a lot earlier so I knew, although I might have to wait some time in between visits, he would be around even at that time of day.

It was a pleasant, sunny 70°/21° day.  Determined to get photographs of him, I would focus on the area where I had seen him regularly come in on the flower feeder.  It seemed to be his favorite spot.

But let me summarize my experience  which explains my blip.  I stayed outside until last light (and last sip) at 6:18...making that over three hours on the shoot...and this is what he gave me to use.

BUPKIS!!!  

By 6:18, it was 45°/7°  so I spent three hours stalking a bird who would hide behind the feeder or go to the one I wasn't focused on. He would also sneak in without humming as he had been. While I was distracted on my iPad by then I could hardly move my very  cold fingers.

He seemed to know where the camera was focused. A nature photographer friend of mine gave me some great tips on how to get the hummers to do my  bidding.  Hopefully it will work.  I will give it a try next time around.  Maybe there will be a bird in the picture then !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.