pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

A bit of sewing..

I bought some oilcloth from Cath Kidston at least a year ago, possibly more. It cost me £20 and ever since, I've been scared to cut it! It has moved about a lot, following me from Cambridge. Today, I found the courage to do something with it. I wanted to sew, and I wanted something nice to sew with. But none of the patterns I have are right. I wanted to make a large bag that I could use for overnight stays.

It is now almost finished. Working with this material has been tricky. I broke one of the special 'jeans' needles on my machine, but I have 4 more! The pattern is basically a big box with a zip in the top. I did things in the wrong order, the zip needed to be put in first and I probably should have cut more pieces. I always try to cut corners! I bent at least half my pins and now need to put on the handles by hand. A thimble will be needed, and later I'll think about a lining and a sturdy base (instead of the cardboard I've put in for now. To do anything more fancy without a pattern was beyond me. 

Yes, it does look more like something I'd put my washing in, than an overnight bag, but it has been a good first try, and next time I will use a pattern!

Usual Sunday jobs either side of the sewing. I've just had a nice bath, and read a couple of chapters, that's followed by a bit of good old BBC drama. 

I quite like Sundays...

Extra photo is the bag at it's current almost made stage

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.