Piano

I had always wanted to be able to play the piano. As a child I was asked if I wanted to learn an instrument. But unfortunately I was told there wasn't room for a piano so I had flute lessons. I wasn't great and mainly because I didn't practice enough. I do still have that flute though, and very occasionally it gets an airing! At 21, I got my first piano, and decided I would teach myself. That same year, 1987, a part work called 'Play it Today' appeared in the shops. A lesson and a cassette tape, sold weekly. I bought it, and started to teach myself.

Roll on 30 years. Lots has happened, and that old piano went long ago. I only got to lesson 7. But thanks to a very kind friend, I now have a piano once more. I also still have those 40 lessons, and 40 cassette tapes (but no cassette player). Occasionally I sit down and have a go. Teaching myself to play the piano, using these 40 lessons, bought 30 years ago....is on my to do list. To do...at some point...in my life. Tonight I had a tinkle on the ivories on lesson 8.

Work was busy, but a trek to get in this morning. I left home at 7.15 and wasn't in the office until 8.45. It's 22 miles. Jon drove to Cambridge and it didn't take him much more to do 85 miles.

Tonight? A row or 2 of my knitting, and a bit of tv. Don't expect to see the finished garment this year....it could even go the same way as the piano lessons...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.