The END?

Anybody familiar with "Ranavirus"?
I have emailed questions, awaiting reply.
Last night I took one of my periodic peers into the pond.
First I thought "Eek the randy season's starting early this year."
Second thought " How many are there?"
Third thought "That doesn't look good."
Took a few shots, tried to "count legs & divide by 4." - No worky, but ...
Top right photo convinced me Herself may, very well be dead. Well that and a slight cloudiness to the water I wasn't aware of previously.
It was suggested (Guess who) that I lift them out. Having a handy net, I complied.
Bottom left - as lifted out.
Bottom right - after tipped out, where they remained unmoving.
I went out some time later to see no signs of any but one dead male, which disappeared over night but NO sign of any bodies in the pond, must look again tonight just to see if they are there or "the cat got them" - literally.
Just looked out to night - 26th ... 2-3 pairs "in flagrante hows yer father", no sign of any corpses and the water appears clearer again.
Let's hope.

"In the case of adult amphibians that have ranaviral disease, there are some clinical signs that the same for both anurans and urodeles (Whatever they are): lethargy, emaciation, reddening of the lower abdomen and lower limbs (although this is a general stress response, so using this alone is not appropriate to diagnose disease), oedema (especially of the abdomen), loss of digits (again, depending on where you are this may not be caused by a diseases sometimes frogs lose a finger or toe over the winter if it gets frozen).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.