pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

The Red Kiosk Company

Today we had originally planned to pick up my car, but the money hadn't made it to my account, so that's been postponed until tomorrow morning. Stupidly I've been worrying about it since Saturday, so one more day of worry to go.

Today felt busy but at lunchtime I didn't feel like a long historical meander, I did, however, feel these two warranted a photo. Inside there are no telephones, instead a notice that says they are no longer the responsibility of BT and now belong to the red kiosk company. I don't know what you think, but I think that is quite sad. Although I suppose if it means they are preserved then that is one positive thing. As a brownie and guide in the 1970s and 80s I diligently carried my 2p in my pocket for an emergency phone call, and remember for one badge we had to state to the tester where the closest phone box was (mine was on Stanstead Road opposite the shops, in Hoddesdon) So now, the phone box really is becoming a part of history. I'll keep an eye on these boxes, which are located at the bottom of St Andrews Hill. According to the red kiosk company's website, they have them all over the country and they can be leased as a pop up shop on daily/weekly basis. Gave me some ideas....

Home late so that I could make up some hours. Nice to have dinner all ready for me. Thinking about doing nothing much now, for the rest of the evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.