The box!

It was certainly wild in Newcastle today. I was happy to be spending most of it inside. And this is where I am when I go to lectures and seminars - on Pilgrim Street, in that box thing that juts out across the road in such a ridiculous fashion.

Pilgrim Street was historically Newcastle's principal medieval route. It was used, as the name suggests, by pilgrims on their way between Durham and Lindisfarne. It would once have been thronging with pilgrim's inns and later coaching inns, as it became part of the Great North Road.
 
When Newcastle had a wall around it, there were several gates and at this point, where the roads meet, was Pilgrim Gate. It was apparently a big, strong structure that was important in defending Newcastle from Scottish invasion. Eventually it became a nuisance and was demolished in 1802.
 
I don’t know for certain, but assume that the metal fencing, (something I had never noticed before, although I have walked this way so many times!), was erected to mark the spot where the gate was. A pity all the street furniture has been placed in front of it!
 
And in the afternoon we were up in 'that box', discussing the book I am just finishing - Cat's Eye by Margaret Atwood. I enjoyed this book and can't think why I had not read it before. (Book number 4 in my reading plan)
 
   
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.