Reflections in a Small World

Today I used my bus pass for the second time and took lots of photos from the upper deck of the bus. Glorious views of Start Bay and the leafy, winding roads between our village and Dartmouth, some of which I might blip another day if and when the rain returns. (Today's sunshine, I fear, may only be a brief respite, but a very welcome one!)

As neither of us was driving, we took the chance of having a glass of wine with our lunch at the Castle Hotel - our first visit there since they hosted our daughter's wedding last summer. It was a lovely meal, but the main reason for our trip was for me to pick up my new reading glasses. 

It became a 'small world' experience: The optician, and his wife, who does the fittings, are away on holiday, so I saw a woman who'd come from across the river to do fittings in their absence. We got chatting and discovered that she is auntie to a little boy (OK, a 32-year-old man, now!), who started at the same tiny school on the very same day as my daughter, up in the Staffordshire village where we lived 28 years ago! What a coincidence! (And if my eye-test reminder-letter hadn't gone astray before Christmas, I'd have had my new glasses one month sooner and would never have cause to have met Rob's Auntie Annette!) 

So, back to my blip-choice for today: Despite all the wonderful views across the sea, this photo is the one I've chosen to blip of the super scaffolding shadows, reflected through the bus window, on the wall of a house in Stoke Fleming - in daoR hcruhC, as you see! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.