But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Raging Torrent.

This week’s exercise is shutter priority, though I must admit that I cheated. The first picture was done by the rules at a 500th, but it looked a mess; partly because of the narrow depth of field and partly due to large amount of action with nothing static to balance it. From then on, I reverted to my favourite aperture priority (set to f:22 for this purpose) and set the ISO to its minimum. For some reason, the 6 second exposure using ND filters, rather pleased me in spite of the fact that there is nothing sharp; I think that it may be because the streaks and textured artifacts do give an illusion of sharpness.    It’s just a bit of a bugger that having waited for 30 seconds for some of the exposures, I then had to wait another 30 for the camera to deal with the computations; I’ve never quite understood why.
 
The extra, taken at a 1/20 secs, also seems to create an illusion of sharpness but, in reality, there is none; the fact that there are a lot of crisp edges seems to obviate the need. There seems to be a theme running through here.
 

Next I have to sweep the camera with a slow shutter; like the bokeh (which it seems, no one knows how to pronounce) it is an effect that I see too frequently and few photographers manage to make it look anything other than a mess. I’ll see if I can continue that trend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.