But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Bokeh - With Legoman.

The last assignment of the week was bokeh, mine isn’t a very good example. I don’t consider an attempt to qualify unless you can see the shape of the iris, Wikipedia seems to agree on that. You can just about see that mine is hexagonal, but it is not easy. Next time I’ll make my own aperture with an interesting shape and Blu-tack it on the front of my lens.
 
Personally, I don’t like the effect, it implies that you have large highlights off centre which necessarily compete with the subject; though I’m sure I know some photographers who could rise to the challenge and use the effect to produce excellent pictures but, mere mortals such as myself don’t stand a chance. I partially solved the problem here by blending three different exposures – a technique that I have yet to master. I’m sure that Legoman must have also experienced difficulties cutting off this branch with the only tool that came to hand
 

Tomorrow is the start of a new week and the topic is shutter speed, so I can see myself heading off to some fast flowing water; fortunately for me, there’s plenty of it about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.