40 Trees

It felt really strange today, not going to the music session. It's all Apple's fault. me.com was due to shut at the end of today, and I still had a lot of stuff to rescue before the shutdown -- mostly photo galleries which I'd entrusted to Apple's Homepage thingy. It was a slow, painstaking process, but I finally rescued everything, with all the galleries and individual photos named to include where they fitted into the gallery scheme. Next thing after that is to find a viable photo gallery alternative to which I can upload the photos -- but that's another day's work.

I went across to Carl's place when I'd finished, anxious for a change of scene and looking forward to a movie or two in Carl's Kino. On the way, I stopped off at Marine Road in Dún Laoghaire and got a few things so as not to arrive empty-handed. I pointed the camera at one or two things while I was at it, including this hoarding which has gone up at the site of the new municipal library (and art centre, no less). It seems rather unseemly, the way in which this project has gone ahead -- and plain silly that its start should coincide with completion of the upgrade of The Metals. There's been some controversy because of the uprooting of some perfectly good trees to make way for the new building, and this slogan on the hoarding sums things up rather nicely.

Movie choice was a bit limited in Carl's Kino, but we did watch the second half of Bonfire of the Vanities. I really enjoyed the book, but the film was no great shakes. I don't remember the characters being so desperately one-dimensional in the book, but they sure were in the film version.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.