The old guard and the new

These are Igor (the iPhone) and Vera (the Sony Ericsson V800), my previous and current mobile phones.

It was cutting it fine to sign up for the iPhone just two days before going away on holiday, but the old warhorse had been playing up recently, especially when it came to charging the battery, and I had to bow to the inevitable if I was to have a reliable phone with me while away.

Vera has been with me for years and years and years (since 2004, possibly), and my pals have found it really difficult to understand why such an Apple fan as I am should wait all that time without getting himself an iPhone. I kept on telling them that I really couldn't every see myself playing games or surfing the web or listening to music on a phone: all I need, I kept on saying, is to send and receive calls and text messages: I don't need all those bells and whistles. Ah yes, that was all very fine until I actually got the iPhone.

So it's out with the old and in with the new. Vera came on holiday also (the idea being that there were some contact numbers on the old phone which didn't make it onto the iPhone when I synced it. Naturally, I survived just fine without the additional contacts, and Vera ended up being dead weight. Now it's time to go through things methodically and take what I need from the old before retiring her for good. Farewell, oh good and faithful servant ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.