That's my bubble burst

Informed by my manager today that the company is requiring ALL employees to be sat at a desk in an office - no more working from home. I can understand the general logic behind this decision but I do object to the failure to take an individuals personal circumstances into consideration and to apply a bit of common sense,. There was a time when management in our company were permitted to exercise a degree of management discretion at times like this - no longer it would seem. Reasons why I would prefer not to go into the office:

~ It's a 1hour commute each way. That's not 2 hours on my day but 2 hours less work they will get out of me
~ I don't work with anyone in the office. My peers are based in other parts of the country or even other countries
~ Due to the above,  spend a lot of time on conference calls. Conference calls in an open plan office are a nightmare

Oh well. They have made similar noises in the past and then nothing has happened. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that the same will happen this time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.