Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Alive and Kicking

Well, it's been quite a day!

Started off with visiting the Arab Health Exhibition (our flagship show) to listen to our CEO open the Leaders in Healthcare conference which this year, is all about bespoke healthcare. It was fascinating. He introduced the key note speaker Princess Haya (CEO of Healthcare City) who talked about the new things coming in healthcare over the next few years, mostly based on research from the human genome project. Treatment customised to the individual's genes. It's going to be huge.

Had a short day at work because of the exhibition finishing and the traffic chaos which inevitably ensues around the complex. Great to be home early, and much needed after last nights' lateness. I fell asleep whilst G went off to help with children's church. My decision to go to the Simple Minds concert was greatly helped by friend Diane buying tickets, so we went together.

Got into the arena just as they started. I never knew Simple Minds were so big here! They weren't exactly a mainstream 80s band and apart from a handful of notable songs, much of their stuff is quite forgettable - something I was reminded of last night, and reinforced by the fact that I don't (yet) have a Simple Minds Greatest Hits CD in my collection!

I do like Jim Kerr and his powerful voice though. It was nice to hear how glad the band were to play in Dubai again. (I can't recall them coming before!) The audience sang and cheered them on. And as my friends Stevie & Diane went and scouted for a place where the bright light wasn't shining right in our eyes close to the stage, I was able to get some close-up shots. Got to watch the bassist and drummer too. Wonderful.

Nice to be out though on a very cool evening. I was glad I wore my long sleeve fleece. Nice to see Thursday night life at the Irish Village. It was buzzing. Had the experience of waiting in a taxi queue for the first time. Think we were there 40 minutes. That's not bad I am told.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.