Tower Extension

I lay in bed listening to the wind this morning, thinking what fun the walk to school was going to be. In the end it wasn’t too bad – really windy, but not too cold.  The cello and BB got to school dry and in one piece.  However, I got soaked walking home made worse by having to walk right into the wind.  After a few chores I headed out to meet a friend in a local café where we sampled the delights of raspberry and polenta cake.  It was delicious – a nice treat.  I then met BB from school and route marched him up the road as he had an afternoon of football and hockey.

I thought the football might have been cancelled as it is held on a really exposed pitch – but it went ahead.  They did finish fifteen minutes early as they were pretty wet and cold.  I went for a variation of the walk I did last week at Prestonpans and managed to stay dry till I was almost back at the car.  I then sat in the car and read my book for fifteen minutes.

A quick change into dry clothes for BB and we zoomed back to hockey, which had been moved to an indoor hall.  I had a quick walk round by the river and the supermarket.

Here is the top of Preston Tower.  The original building, some of which may date from the 14th century, has four storeys. A further two storeys (as shown here) were added above the parapet in 1626.  They are built with different stone and are in a different architectural style.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.