Lemon posset

Our weekend guests requested a games night as part of their visit and we were very happy to oblige. On the guest list were Sam, Angie, Katharine, Jack, Ben, Richard, Linzi, Andy and Laura.

We started at 5pm with afternoon tea (and chat), then moved onto the fizz for a few rounds of Taboo. Empire followed. Then it was supper time: Lochinver pies by post, lemon posset (blipped), and cheese and biscuits. Post-dinner entertainment was Balderdash.

Balderdash is often very funny and I love playing it, not least because I am often the winner with my highly believable bluffs. Any chance of my winning on this occasion, however, was ruined early in the game. Jack rendered the second round invalid when he forgot to read out the real answer amongst all the fakes. Had he done so, and everyone's answers had remained the same (which I think was likely) I would have stormed ahead with my much more plausible answer to a legal question about trout fishing in Idaho. (The real answer featured a giraffe!)

The early part of my day was concerned with party prep: supermarket shopping, baking (banana loaf and scones), preparing vegetables to go with the pies, and whipping up the lemon posset.

It's been a great day. My only regret is that nadinepierce, Sandy (Mr hazelh's 'twin') and gbees couldn't make it due to heavy snowfall out of town.

Exercise today: none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.