Goodbye, January. And Goodbye, Sir Terry!

The last day of January (thank goodness!) and another one bites the dust: lovely Terry Wogan's died. I remember coming home from school of an afternoon in the 1960s to hear the end of the Terry Wogan show on Radio 2. That was years before he moved to the morning Wake up with Wogan slot, where he used to help us off to work and our children off to school. My son was pre-school, aged about three, when, Wogan being on holiday, he heard a strange voice on the radio, as someone stood in for him. "Is that Terry Wogan dressed up?" he asked. With the arrival of February tomorrow, let's hope Terry's the last 'national treasure' to die for a while. (Even if he was loaned from another nation - thank you, Ireland!)

Today it's been back to vile gales and continuous rain. Where does it all come from?! Just broached a bottle of Madeira that my son gave me for Christmas, and we've drunk a toast to its home island. Two weeks tomorrow that's where we're heading for our fifth holiday there. Meanwhile, my latest jigsaw is growing apace. Very therapeutic it is, too! And I'm glad I did my RSPB bird count yesterday; hardly saw a bird today, at all.

Goodbye, January,
Can't say I'll miss you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.