Mirror on the Stairs

Another fabulous day!
Our weekend in London has felt like a proper holiday!
Annoyingly I woke up really early and couldn't get back to sleep. But at least it gave me the chance to have a bath. Ease my aching bones before setting off out again!
Breakfast was lovely. We more than got our money's worth! Although our one hard boiled egg each rather paled into insignificance compared to the six that the weird man on the table next to us had. The waitress brought them all in one go. In individual egg cups!
After stuffing our faces we walked to the tube and headed to St Paul's and the Museum of London. I haven't been to the museum for years and we had lovely wander for a few hours. With a break for tea and cake!
There was an exhibition about the cauldron for the 2012 Olympic flame. The design and construction process was really interesting and it was amazing to see the actual cauldron (see extras). There was a video showing the opening ceremony and I got goose bumps just watching it. It brought back how amazing it all was.
From there was walked across the Millennium Bridge to the building full of crap passing itself off as art Tate Modern.
The first exercise on my course is to look at Fountain by Marcel Duchamp (see extras) and give my first impressions of it.
Well let's see. It's a urinal with the artist's pseudonym on it. What do I think?!!!!
Actually the story behind it is quite interesting and the question of what makes something art. When I am less sleepy I will be writing some thoughts.
I hadn't planned to go to the Tate but when I saw that Fountain  was there we made a quick detour. 
I did have to laugh - we went up to the room it's in, looked at it, read the blurb, took some photos and then left. Modern art's clearly not our thing!!
From there we walked along the river to Westminster Bridge and then I thought my legs were going to fall off so we jumped on a bus back up to Baker Street.
We're nothing if not creatures of habit so we went to Bill's for dinner before getting the train home.
Miles walked, far too much food eaten, time for just the two of us, so many memories made. Best Christmas present ever!!
We got home to find the Little Misses all clean and shiny from their bath. It was lovely to see them.
And it was lovely to collapse into bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.