Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

What a pair...

Ounce for ounce, these are one of our cutest backyard birds - and also rather difficult to photograph since they never stay still and tend to favor skulking around in dense shrubs and brushy areas.  So, I was thrilled when one perched on the cherry tree, in decent light, allowing me to get off some shots...and things got even better when the second one showed up and perched close enough to get them both in the same frame.  I think I've only ever managed to get two Carolina Wrens in the same shot once or twice, so this was deserving of today's Blip.  

It's a little hard to see, but the wren on the bottom was softly chattering the as I snapped, and in this shot his beak is open.  It was a surprisingly soft sound for a wren that is known for its very loud voice.  These wrens tend to mate for life and the pair will usually stay on territory all year.  I tend not to see them as often in the summer as they nest further back in the woods, although I hear the male's loud and distinctive "teakettle teakettle" song all year.  Adorable little things with their big voices and jaunty tails.  Another shot of the cute couple HERE on Flickr

Tagged for TinyTuesday36 - a bit of a stretch perhaps, but they are very tiny birds, so maybe they count!

There has been a male Common Grackle around the yard for the last few days and I finally figured out why today when I noticed that he appears to have an injured right foot.  He seems to be getting along fine with frequent trips to the feeders, so I will assume he'll mend and be on his way soon.  He's off up into the trees the moment I venture outside, so he's not seriously injured.

Speaking of injuries, Hubs toe is now a dastardly shade of black and blue, but he is getting around okay and even able to get shoes on.  And, he just suggested a walk this afternoon, so I think he'll survive...

TTFN, people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.