Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Just an old-fashioned love song...

Comin' down in three-part harmony  
Just an old-fashioned love song  
One I'm sure they wrote for you and me


Some of you will be of an age to remember this classic Three-Dog Night song.  And if you're not, you can have a listen HERE.  It's the first song that popped into my head as I watched this pair of House Finches singing their duet, after he'd fed her a morsel. 


Bird courtship rituals are such a fascinating thing to observe - it always feels like a special gift when I am able to see something like this.  I heard these two before I saw them - he was singing his complex song with great gusty and periodically she would chime in and sing a few bars. This went on for a good five minutes with short breaks while he fed her.  One can believe at times like this that spring really is just around the corner... Anyway, this seemed like an easy choice for today's blip.  I got a bunch of shots of these two, but I like this the best as you can see them both singing here.  


My other favorite shot of the day is this adorable Carolina Wren, giving me a look.


It's rather gloomy today, but nothing coming out of the sky so that's good.  The day started with a scare when Hubs missed a step and slid down the stairs this morning.  He is okay, other than a toe that is either fractured or sprained.  He's been keeping it elevated and icing it every 30 minutes or so.  Very glad it wasn't worse - falling is something that is usually my purview, not his, so it startled both of us when he went down.  


Happy Monday, people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.