Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Number 13

Feeling very fortunate to have an abundance of these winter sparrows in the yard, as I didn't have the time to get out today.  This is the tan-striped morph of a White-throated sparrow, with tan and brown stripes on his head rather than the more common black and white stripes.  His yellow eye-brows are also less vivid.  But the beautiful feather patterns on the back are consistent between both variations this species - filled with rich, warm colors.  

I convinced everyone to wait until later this morning to go visit MIL in the home.  I did check in with the nurse on duty and learned that she'd joined the other residents in the dining room for breakfast and had then gone to the activities room.  The nurse said she'd been asking why she was there, but the aides/staff were able to distract her.

But when Gretel and I got there at around 10:45, she immediately started asking why she was in "this place" and that she wanted to leave.  It's so difficult because her failing memory doesn't allow her to remember why she is here, no matter how often we tell her.  

On the upside, we were there when the Doctor came to do her intake exam and we all liked him.  He was lovely with Virginia and she responded by flirting up a storm.  A lot of laughter which was good for all of us.  He visits the home several times a week, so we feel she'll be in good hands.  We also met another member of the therapy group, a lovely woman who offered some suggestions and offered to do some things to help with the transition.  I continue to be very impressed with the caring and compassion of the staff.

After leaving the care facility, I had a bazillion errands to run, none of which went smoothly.  The net result was that I was so stressed when I finally got home that I had a major meltdown.  Probably not entirely surprising, but I do wish Hubs hadn't seen it as he doesn't need anything else to worry about at the moment.

I've made a big bowl of grains, broccoli and sweet potatoes that we can all snack on tonight - eating schedules are so erratic with Gretel, me and Hubs right now that this seems the best solution just to make sure everyone eats something nutritious.  

Thank you very much for stopping by.  
xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.