Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Number Twelve

The 12th yard bird to be featured in my journal this year, the Common Grackle.  I can usually count on a few of these handsome birds showing up when it snows and today was no exception.  I took advantage of a few minutes of downtime this afternoon to snap this from the warmth and comfort of my living room.

MIL arrived a little after 7 last night after two very long days of driving.  Safe to say that everyone was frazzled.  She was tired, so her confusion was greater.  It was emotionally draining for everyone, but we finally got her settled and - at the gentle urging of the staff at the Home - headed home a little after 9:30.  Smoothies, some nuts and a big glass of wine were the order of business when we got home.  Then bed where my sleep was very fitful.

Gretel (MIL's aide who is staying here for several days to help get Virginia settled) has spent most of the day with her; and I headed over mid-morning until early afternoon.  Hubs just left to spend the evening time with her.  Tomorrow we must begin cutting back our time there so that the staff at the Home can get her into a routine, and can get to know her.  This is going to be very difficult for us, and for her, but it must be done.  Thankfully, the home is only a few short miles away.

I'm feeling drained.  Hoping I can get out for an hour or so with my camera sometime in the next few days.  

Thank you so very much for all the very kind birthday wishes yesterday.  I will say that it was definitely a memorable day, and perhaps the strangest birthday I've ever spent.  

One step at a time...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.