Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Surprise!

I'm not sure where Hubs found the time to order flowers for me for my birthday, but somehow, he did.  A beautiful vase of my favorite flowers (tulips) with a big, scary balloon (pictured).  No, I'm not afraid of balloons, but it turns out that the cats view balloons as messengers from Satan.  Charlie, who loves to eat flowers, was closing in for a nibble when the balloon moved - he became a ginger blur and I laughed so hard that I had to sit down.  So, not only did Hubs give me an "awwww" moment, he also gave me a big laugh.

Started my birthday with a nice, long phone call with my parents.  From there, it was off to the retirement home to set up some family photos MIL's dresser, then a bunch of errands, then home to finish cleaning the house.  

Hubs ran into near white-out conditions on the drive this morning so it's been slow going.  As it stands now, they should arrive at the Home around 6 tonight.  I've got the staff there on standby.  They'll fix her something to eat when she gets there and then we will all try to get her somewhat settled in.  They start getting the residents ready for bed around 8, so we'll need to leave about that time to come home - probably stop for a pizza or something on the way.  Hubs says she's done very well for all these hours in the car, chatting up a non-stop storm.  So, hopefully she'll be tired enough to sleep well tonight and won't be too confused when she wakes up.  

Sixty-one today ... gosh, why does it seem like just the blink of an eye since I was 25?  Other than the odd stiff joint, I still pretty much feel 25, so I guess I can't complain.  

Happy Monday, people.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.