Moonwalking

Well I’ll start with the fact that the hotel internet broke down. It hasn’t worked after 10 pm last night. This morning I told the owner and he just doesn’t get the fact how my wifi doesn’t work when his wire connection works. I told him that it’s probably the router, but no it can’t be as his works. I told him that it was fine until last night, but he just keeps pushing the password to me. That doesn’t really help when we can’t even connect to the network to give the password. And we did you the connection with 5 different appliances so I think we got the password part okay.

Buddha has hurt his paw. I can’t see anything in it, but he’s indicating it’s sore, so I cut some soft parts of the diapers we have. Put those under his paw and made it stick with a “compression thingy” you put around a sore ankle too. You get it. I have no access to internet encyclopedias to check words. ;-) He’s able to walk with the sore paw okay, so I think we’ll let it rest and see how it is after few days. Now it’s taken care of and his hopping around okay. But he was so happy to get the medical attention. Funny dog.

So. No internet. No books to read. When you are traveling with all your belongings and try to travel as light as possible, you don’t carry books. We went to store to find something to read. The biggest store around does not carry anything in English here. Everywhere else they’ve had English book section. Not here. Not one magazine, so I bought In Style in Spanish. I can look at the pictures and read the titles and picture texts. I think that’s enough practice for me.

About this hotel. Yesterday I told that the website states that they are booked, and we are only customers. Someone was supposed to come today, but we haven’t seen yet. Anyway first I felt like this is a sweet old place. That it’s a bit ragged, but it’s clean enough. Now I’m starting to suffer. The list of broken things just keep piling (the internet being the last straw naturally). The heating is not working, luckily the there’s another way to do it. The shower head is not getting that much water out as most of it is leaking from the cord. The sink is leaking to the floor. We have one doggy towel on it to keep our socks dry and let the towel dry during the day when we are away. The shutters that are used here for in front of the windows are stuck in the up position. Which is better that we get to enjoy the view before dark, but does mean it gets cold during the night.

Today we took a road trip about 150km north and back. We visited Riotinto Mines. Rio Tinto means - wait for it - red wine river! The mine area has ferrous oxide (iron) that colors the water of the river. We manage to drive the other way fro the river. Here it might be 20 km before you are able to make u-turn, so we continued our drive up north to look at the mountains. The picture is from the mine that is active again. According to the myth they are the mines of King Salomon himself. There a little town near by named after him.

We also saw other things today like a reservoir and I took lots of photographs that I don’t want to upload to net to save the prepaid connection. That also means I have to lay low in Blipfoto for a few days. Hopefully we’ll be in Coin on Friday and the connection there is good. I kind of can’t wait to get out of here. At this point we think we’ll visit Portugal tomorrow or Thursday. Have to remember to take the dogs passports with us. We don’t need them, but if the dogs are checked they will. Funny world.

By the way. We’ve started to see caterpillars on the ground too. I think they have fallen from the nest. They scare the s*** out of me. While in the mountains today I saw nest so big on pines that they looked like christmas decorations from the moving car. Huge white baubles hanging on the trees.  This hotel is surrounded by pines and they have nests. I never thought pines could be so scary.  I don’t think we can get away fast enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.