One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Drizzly conviviality

Daniela and her daughter Anais, all the way from Austria, kindly and readily agreed to be my colourful characters of the day.
When I saw them walk into the gallery in their brightly coloured ponchos, I knew that this had to be the colour-is-the-new-black shot of the day.

When I asked Daniela was she reckoned of the local meteorological conditions, she very candidly informed me that it is great. The drizzle is great, it's fresh and not too wet, and not aggressive. According to her, when it rains in Austria, people become aggressive. While here, and she was truly amazed at that "people are still nice".
She had to ask for directions on a number of occasions, and couldn't believe her drizzle-infused eyes and rain-soaked ears when people actually took the time to stop and give her direction
"Some of them were not even wearing rain clothing!" she enthused. "They gave me directions instead of running for shelter!"

I tried to explain to her that in Ireland:
a- rain gear is considered totally uncool when the hourly rain fall is less than 5 meters
b- if rain led to aggression, the island would be a barren island of bogs and scattered forests, with the odd bleached human femur poking here and there

Today I spoke to very enthusiastic portrait amateurs from Austria, Russia, Venezuela, India, the US (of A), France and Germany.

And one grumpy fucker who declared that the council spends millions trying to clean up the place, and that all my empty packs of cigarettes looked disgusting, and were bond to be a health and safety hazard.

This health and safety freak (he drove away without wearing his seat belt) definitely suffered from a bout of rain-aggression on this wet miserable Monday morning.
But so do I. If he comes back to give out more, his bleached femur may poke out of a clearing in the Dublin Mountains some day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.