Lagunaria

Lagunaria or Cow Itch Tree or Pyramid Tree, or Norfolk Island Hibiscus.....take your pick! This attractive tree is growing close to our house. No doubt it was in flower when we took possession of our property one year ago today. But I confess my mind was so occupied with the whole house-moving process that I did not notice this tree in flower. Apparently there are tiny hairs inside the seed pods which can set up intense itching in some humans and I daresay cows. Hence the name Cow Itch Tree. I believe these trees are more prevalent in Australia and some communities have petitioned their Councils to have the trees removed from some public places. We have not encountered any itchy problems as yet but will be wary of the pods in future. In the meantime I think the flowers are very pretty and well worth blipping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.