Plus ça change...

By SooB

Blooming marvellous

Some days just seem to tumble from the sky in fully-formed loveliness.  A sunbeam of perfection seems to shine on you all day and everyone is kind to you, everything you touch turns to the opposite of shite (for me, that's Galaxy milk chocolate, rather than gold - but you can take your pick), and a Ready Brek glow of contentment follows you around all day.

No idea why the fates picked today to throw me a bone, but I'll take it happily.  A sunny day, a fascinating episode of In Our Time, lots of outdoor work and a proper dinner of venison, mash, great mushrooms, drambuie'd squash and greens.  And a very fine bottle of Australian wine to wash it all down with.

In case you're thinking I'm getting too much of a break, the kids were their usual selves (save for a rare and touching kindness at the end of the day) and I really hurt my thumb.  

Mr B spotted this dwarf iris on a random pile of soil.  The soil was the result of our gardener dismantling a raised bed which I thought I had removed all the bulbs from.  Turns out not.  A bunch of daffs and tulips are coming up too.  Mr B also brought joy in a series of decisions that were unexpected at the end of the day.  Many phone calls to make tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.