Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

"..a great many books .." Dickens Challenge DOT3

I think I've said before that Dickens is one of my favourite authors, so how can I ignore the 'Blipfoto Dickens challenge 2016' set by hildasrose?
But before that, as it's Flower Friday, I must follow up my comment recently that I don't usually take part as Petronela is so much better at flowers than I am. So, today she received notice that her picture of last year's crocus had been selected as in the top 20% for 2015 by Pixoto members (see extra).
Back to Dickens. One quote set for the first of 5 weeks of the challenge is from Oliver Twist:
"There are a good many books, are there not, my boy?" said Mr. Brownlow: observing the curiosity with which Oliver surveyed the shelves that reached from the floor to the ceiling."
"A great number, sir, " replied Oliver. "I never saw so many."
"You shall read them, if you behave well," said the old gentleman kindly; "and you will like that, better than looking at the outsides, - that is, in some cases; because there are books of which the backs and covers are by far the best parts."
You should be able to see the quote in my copy if viewed in large.
There's so much tucked away in these few words, which is one of the reasons I admire Dickens. By suggesting the backs and covers are sometimes better than the contents, Dickens is having a swipe at some of his writer competitors. Later on, Oliver says he'd rather sell books than write them, another sideswipe, at publishers who were making a lot of money from Dickens's works whereas he was making very little.
I was very tempted by another quote set for the first week: "The law is an ass, Sir!" I'm completely with Dickens on that.
One of my very few regrets about not working in London is not being able to saunter round some of Dickens's haunts, as I often did when I worked in Fleet Street. I might try to get to the proposed challenge blipmeet if I can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.