A Plumbers Wife!

By hebsjournal

The 80's and "gothic" reminders

We went to an 80's party last night (I backblipped - its a 'showbiz' blip!). Fancy dress - either 80's clothes or characters from the 80's. We were surrounded by Zippy, Bananaman, the Hulk, a rubik's cube and lots and lots of leg warmers, high heels and strings of fake pearls. It was a real 'time warp' and took me back to my teens - even when I was putting on my pink eyeshadow, blue eyeliner and blue mascara. even managed to get my hair to flick over like it did 'back in the day'. It was fab.

All this was in aid of my friend, Elaine, turning 40 on Monday. She won't thank me for announcing that to everyone. Teehee.Photos from here (poor quality but they convey the meaning of the artist!!!)

So my outfit was basically black mini skirt, batwing off the shoulder top, fishnets (oh my god!) and the essential item that I dashed to the shops for at 5.15 last night - a pair of really high, pointy toe-d black patent stilletoes. Topped off with a diamante crucifix and some beaded bangles. I looked great (NOT!!!! actually, I think I did. Is that wrong?)

Stilletoes, in fact any sort of heel on a shoe other than FLAT, are not something I wear as a rule. I guess because I am on my feet all day and sometimes have to run after naughty children (or sneak up on them to catch them 'avin' a fag, heels are a bit of a giveaway that you are clippity clopping towards them) - heels just aren't practical. So initially last night I figured I was going to be in agony from sore feet or worse still, have a broken ankle! But no, actually I managed to DANCE (albeit to sad 80's tunes like "Too Shy" by Kajagoogoo and "I think we're alone now" by Tiffany). By the end of the evening I was actually coming round to the idea of wearing heels more often. However, since I've been shopping and cleaning a lot today, they didn't seem practical.


Some alternative blip potentials for tonight

Was a bit gutted that when this came on everyone cleared off the dance floor - for a former "goth girl" this was one of my favourite tunes...but I wasn't dancing by myself!

Off to upload some goth tunes to my iPod. And maybe a bit of Rick Astley...

.....never gonna give you up....never gonna let you down ....time for my tablets methinks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.