Oyster Bay House

I keep trying to photograph this building and I'm still not sure that I have it right. It's called Oyster Bay House and it was originally a warehouse built in the mid 19th century on Faversham Creek. If you follow that link you'll see the details of when it was recently sold; it has been converted into a rather lovely looking house and was listed at £1.1M. There is private mooring with the house so that's all good.

This is at the end of Standard Quay in Faversham. The area has a number of little shops in the old stables and buildings along the quay - there is a shot in the extras which gives an idea of the place.
The other shot is of a guy holding up a large wheel. I watched him standing like this for a good few minutes and assumed that he'd been very naughty and this was his punishment. Finally, I had to go and ask.  Now I know that you are all already across this but it was new to me - he was emptying the water out of the tyre. Like a fool I asked how it got in there and he and his buddies explained that they put water in the tyres as it acts as a counter-balance when they have the hedge-cutting arm on the front. The alternative is to add weights to the side or back of the tractor and this can cause problems when they are working in narrow lanes. Of course although this all sounded sensible I checked when I got home in case they were pulling my leg because I'm a Northerner. It looks kushti and I checked with a farming expert on Skype who confirmed this practice.

So there you have it! Some history and some practical farming advice and I've had a couple of telephone/online meetings and done some work. I've also, rather bizarrely, been discussing doughnuts in Bavaria and from a major retailer in the Americas. Some planning sorted too but I’m not sure that the stall on Eccles market selling vegan sauerkraut and chocolate krapfen would be the path to untold wealth and happiness that the proposer suggested.

Not the worst Friday I’ve ever known.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.