Revamp

To the Tate Britain this morning . Haven't been there for a few years and its been all revamped. Including this cool staircase which I don't remember seeing before. 

Frank Auerbach was the subject of an exhibition. Really good semi  abstract paintings in very thickly applied oils. Portraits and scenes of Camden Town. He also does wonderful  portraits in charcoal and pastel which I think, on reflection, were my favourites.

Then a drop in to the series of rooms called the "BP Walk through British art". I seem to remember this being highly praised when it was introduced a couple of years back. Justifiably so because you can dip in and out and be surprised by some of the treats on show. 

It wasn't very crowded - I think most people make a B-line for the Tate Modern because it is all new and groovy. But this museum is well worth a trip.

Then home for the rugby and a TV catch up of Dickensian and Shetland this evening. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.